If you need assistance, please call 940-464-1111

All About Argyle

Growth was very slow during the nineteenth century, and by 1890 Argyle only had a population of 148. The town did boast several agriculture-related industries, such as grist mills, general stores, and a cotton gin. In 1885, Argyle built a two-story brick school, and population grew until it reached 238 in 1930. A bank was also established in 1906, a little red brick building with a drugstore in the front. 

The Great Depression took its toll on the Argyle area, and the population declined to only ninety in 1950. Argyle incorporated as a separate city on September 19, 1960, with M.H. Wilson as the first mayor. Gradually the town grew in population as more people from the Dallas-Fort Worth area discovered its rural charm. By the 1970s a number of retail establishments were located in Argyle, and the population reached 1,575 in 1990, and doubled from that figure to 3,282 at the 2010 census. The high rate of growth is expected to continue as part of the general development of northern areas in the Dallas-Fort Worth metroplex. 

The Town of Argyle provides a small-town atmosphere, with first class style and easy access to many business centers, medical facilities, shopping, entertainment, cultural activities, and professional sporting events with its close proximity to the Metroplex (Denton, Ft Worth, and Dallas). 

Argyle is a great place to call home with an incredible school district.

Argyle ISD is a highly ranked 4A public school district in the state of Texas that is based in Argyle, Texas. Argyle ISD has been awarded the prestigious UIL Lone Star Cup for eight consecutive years and has been awarded the cup a total of ten times. The UIL Lone Star Cup recognizes that Argyle ISD is ranked number one in academics, fine arts and athletics. The current student population for the 2018 - 2019 school year is 3,503. The district anticipates enrollment to increase to 4,276 students by the 2021/2022 school year and to 6,177 by 2026/27. The district serves five municipalities; Argyle, Flower Mound, Bartonville, Denton and Northlake. Argyle ISD takes pride in putting students first, focusing on community based values and striving for excellence.