Saint Jo is the oldest town in Montague County, Texas. Situated in the lush, rolling hills of the Red River Valley, Saint Jo boasts some of the most dramatic scenery in north Texas. Founded in 1849, it was also called Head of Elm for a time, in regards to its close proximity to the headwaters of the Elm Fork of the Trinity River.
Just like most tales of the Old West, there is debate amongst local legend about the founder Joseph Howell, and the motives behind naming the town after him. One account is that the promoters laying out the town were so impressed by his abstinence from alcohol that they named the town “Saint Jo.” A more scandalous version is that Joseph’s frequent favoring of alcohol inspired the namesake out of jest. Just one of many chapters in the colorful history of this town.
In the late 1800’s, during a time of frequent Comanche raids and a rapidly settling frontier, Saint Jo was a hub for commerce, supply, and even libation. Cowboys and trail drivers pushing their cattle north up the famed Chisholm Trail could make their last stop in Texas before the Red River to re-supply, or have a drink at the Old Saloon (which still stands today in the form of a museum). It is estimated that between 6 and 10 million cattle came up this well traveled route, trailed by some 35,000 cowboys over the years. As the greatest migration of livestock in world history, it made famous the image of the American cowboy, life on the wide-open range, and is an integral part of Saint Jo’s historic makeup.
Today, this history is kept alive in the ongoing preservation of the unique buildings in our town square, the diverse collection at the Stonewall Saloon, as well as the educational efforts of community members. A well-known descendant of Joseph S. Howell, Donna Howell-Sickles, a cowgirl hall of fame inducted painter, also continues to highlight some of this western history in her vibrant paintings produced here in Saint Jo, which are eagerly sought by museums and collectors all over America.
There are five historic markers inside the city: The First State Bank, Boggess City Park, the Stonewall Saloon Museum, The Phillips House, and the Head of Elm Cemetery. There are three historic cemeteries including Pioneer, Head of Elm, and Mountain Park.We are excited to help the residents of Saint Jo and the surrounding communities build lasting friendships and partnerships for years to come.
Contact us today if we can help you navigate the real estate market. We are happy to help answer questions and provide insightful information.
Office Location : Saint Jo Square ~ 112 S Broad St., Saint Jo, TX 76265
Phone Number: 940-350-1212
- Homes and Land For Sale In Saint Jo, TX
- Homes and Land For Sale In Muenster, TX
- Homes and Land For Sale In Lindsay, TX
- Homes and Land For Sale In Montague County, TX